NBA MVP 2021 announcement Nikola Jokic is MVP

Denver Nuggets star Nikola Jokic wins the MVP award!!!

NBA League Commissioner Adam Silver told Jokic that he is the MVP, while he was sitting in the room during a team meeting and a conference call with representatives of the league players’ association.

Voting results for the 2020-21 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award

Jokić got 91 first-place votes, 8 second-place votes, 1 third-place vote, and collected 971 total points from a panel of 100 sportswriters and broadcasters and 1 Kia NBA Most Valuable Player Award fan vote, making a total of 101 ballots. 

Philadelphia 76ers center Joel Embiid 586 points, finished in second place, Golden State Warriors guard Stephen Curry 453 points in third place, Milwaukee Bucks forward Antetokounmpo 348 points in fourth place, and Phoenix Suns guard Chris Paul 139 points in fifth place. BTW LeBron James received only 1 point.

Nikola Jokic Wins #KiaMVP Most Valuable Player! | 2020-21 NBA Season

The end of the 2020 – 2021 NBA season is scheduled for May 16 and the MVP race is still underway. The announcement for the NBA MVP normally takes one month after the end of the regular season or just before the conference finals.

When is NBA MVP announced 2021

2021 NBA MVP announcement date was on the 8th of June. Nuggets star Nikola Jokic wins the MVP award. The last center to win the MVP award was Shaquille O’Neal in 1999-2000

Who is most likely to win MVP NBA 2021?

NBA’s Most Valuable Player for the 2021 year judging by the media poll and betting sites is Denver Nuggets star Nikola Jokic aka Joker. Jokic is standing way above the rest of the other NBA stars like Joel Embiid, Giannis Antetokounmpo, StephenCurry, LeBron James, Kevin Durant, Luka Doncic, Damian Lillard, Chris Paul, Julius Randle, Kyrie Irving, James Harden, etc.

According to ESPN, these three players are top finalists for the MVP award.

Denver Nuggets center Nikola Jokic, Philadelphia 76ers center Joel Embiid, and Golden State Warriors guard Stephen Curry are the finalists for the 2021 NBA Most Valuable Player award.

Joker finished first in all important metrics. Offensive Win Shares, Player Efficiency Rating (PER), Box Plus-Minus, Value Over Replacement Player, and Win Shares. He also played in every NBA game and has more minutes than any other contender for the MVP trophy. Jokic is the third player in NBA history to finish a season ranked in the top five in total points (third), rebounds (fifth), and assists (third). I have to mention that Nikola was the number 41 pick in the second round of the 2014 draft selected by the Nuggets, he could be the lowest draft pick ever to win MVP.

Who is the MVP of the NBA 2021?

My pick for 2021 NBA MVP award is Denver Nuggets star Nikola Jokic. All I can say:

"Nikola Jokic is like water vapor. The driving force of the team, invisible and elusive"

Serbian native Nikola Jokic, who has not missed a single game this season, collected 90 of the 101 first-place votes cast in ESPN’s latest MVP straw poll. The Joker is almost averaging a triple-double. He has 60 double-doubles and 16 triple-doubles in the 2020-21 NBA regular season.

Why should Jokic win MVP this season? I can suggest that you read this article by Matt Moore with a lot of good arguments about Joker being the front runner. Moore: Making The Definitive MVP Case For Denver Nuggets Star Nikola Jokić

The MVP votes are weighted with a point system that breaks down like this:

  • 1st place vote: 10 pts
  • 2nd place vote: 7 pts
  • 3rd place vote: 5 pts
  • 4th place vote: 3 pts
  • 5th place vote: 1 pts

NBA MVP Media Straw Poll Results

1. Nikola Jokic908210101969
2. Joel Embiid52719201182401
3. Giannis Antetokounmpo0232626681375
4. Damian Lillard21323141567283
5. James Harden11510152162231
6. LeBron James05591837105
7. Chris Paul282331898
8. Kawhi Leonard1176102580
9. Luka Doncic003271228
10. Rudy Gobert01223826
11. Donovan Mitchell01102414
12. Stephen Curry00122513
13. Devin Booker0000333
Date: Apr 15, 2021

NBA MVP race list 2021

As of this writing 2021 NBA MVP race list looks like this:

Date: May 19, 2021

  • Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets
  • Joel Embiid, Philadelphia 76ers
  • Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors
  • Giannis Antetokuonmpo, Milwaukee Bucks
  • Chris Paul, Phoenix Suns
  • Julius Randle, New York Knicks
  • Devin Booker, Phoenix Suns
  • Luka Doncic, Dallas Mavericks
  • Donovan Mitchell, Utah Jazz
  • Jimmy Butler, Miami Heat 

Nikola Jokic Player Stats 2021

Three times NBA All-Star has amazing stats this season. He has CAREER-HIGH 50 Points versus Sacramento Kings.

Team: Denver Nuggets, Position: C, Jersey: 15, Exp: 6th season, Age: 26 Ht: 7′ 0″, Wt: 284 lbs, College: None, Salary: $29,542,010

Nikola Jokic stats for NBA season 2020 – 2021: Points 26.4, Rebounds 10.8, Assist 8.3, Steals 1.3, Blocks 0.7, PER 31.36 – First in the league! Field Goal percentage 56.6, Three-point percentage 38.8, Free throw percentage 86.8. Just amazing stats!

Who won NBA MVP 2020

In the last season, Giannis Antetokuonmpo won the MVP getting 85 first-place votes and totaling 962 MVP points. LeBron James came in second with 15 first-place votes and 753 points.

The MVP top 5 list for year 2020:

  1. Giannis Antetokuonmpo, Milwaukee Bucks: 962 pts
  2. LeBron James, LA Lakers: 753 pts
  3. James Harden, Houston Rockets: 367 pts
  4. Luca Doncic, Dallas Mavericks: 200 pts
  5. Kawhi Leonard, LA Clippers: 168 pts


  • 2020-21 – Nikola Jokic, Denver Nuggets
  • 2019-20 – Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks
  • 2018-19 – Giannis Antetokounmpo, Milwaukee Bucks
  • 2017-18 – James Harden, Houston Rockets
  • 2016-17 – Russell Westbrook, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • 2015-16 – Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors
  • 2014-15 – Stephen Curry, Golden State Warriors
  • 2013-14 – Kevin Durant, Oklahoma City Thunder
  • 2012-13 – LeBron James, Miami Heat
  • 2011-12 – LeBron James, Miami Heat
  • 2010-11 – Derrick Rose, Chicago Bulls
  • 2009-10 – LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • 2008-09 – LeBron James, Cleveland Cavaliers
  • 2007-08 – Kobe Bryant, Los Angeles Lakers
  • 2006-07 – Dirk Nowitzki, Dallas Mavericks
  • 2005-06 – Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns
  • 2004-05 – Steve Nash, Phoenix Suns
  • 2003-04 – Kevin Garnett, Minnesota Timberwolves
  • 2002-03 – Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs
  • 2001-02 – Tim Duncan, San Antonio Spurs
  • 2000-01 – Allen Iverson, Philadelphia 76ers
  • 1999-00 – Shaquille O’Neal, Los Aneles Lakers
  • 1998-99 – Karl Malone, Utah Jazz
  • 1997-98 – Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls
  • 1996-97 – Karl Malone, Utah Jazz
  • 1995-96 – Michael Jordan, Chicago Bulls

CAREER-HIGH 50 Points For Nikola Jokic

The Sixth Man trophy goes to …

Utah Jazz’s Jordan Clarkson wins the 2021 NBA Sixth Man of the Year award.

NBA Most Improved Player Award goes to …

New York Knicks power forward Julius Randle wins the 2021 NBA Most Improved Player award. Well deserved!

Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year award goes to …

Damian Lillard wins 2020-2021 Twyman-Stokes Teammate of the Year award.

Defensive Player of the Year Award goes to …

Rudy Gobert wins the 2021 Defensive Player of the Year Award for the third time.